Digital News Report – A new law will go into effect on July 1, 2011, requiring single-family homes in California to have carbon monoxide detectors installed near bedrooms and on each floor of the house. If caught without having the appropriate carbon monoxide testers in the home, the homeowner could be charged with a misdemeanor fine of up to $200 per offense.
Luckily, homeowners have 30 days to correct the problem if they are flagged for violating the new Carbon Monoxide Poisoning Prevention Act of 2010. If after failing to comply after 30-days, the fine would then be charged to the homeowner.
If you are planning to sell your home, or if you are planning to remodel your home, you will need to have the carbon monoxide testers installed. During the sale of the home, the testers will be checked for during the disclosure process. The building inspectors will be looking for carbon monoxide testers during remodeling projects.
Carbon monoxide testers must be installed outside each bedroom where people sleep. They also have to be on each level of the home.
Single-family homes that have fossil burning sources connected to their living quarters would be required to install carbon monoxide detectors. If a garage is connected to the home would make it necessary to have the equipment. If a gas or propane stove, or a heater run on fossil fuels would require the testers. If a home has either a wood or a propane/gas fireplace, they too would need to have the test equipment.
All other kinds of residences in California will have to comply with the carbon monoxide monitor regulation starting on January 1, 2013. These will include dwellings such as apartments or condominiums.
By: Greg Cook